SWINDLED!

Most people are aware that the guys who come to your door trying to sell you something are usually a part of a scam. Then again most people like ketchup and don’t still occasionally check under their bed before going to sleep.

So I guess I’m not like most people…

The other day after getting home from work I was just about to kick up my feet and enjoy a relaxing night of kicking the shit out of dude’s online team in NHL 11 when it happened…

There was a knock at my door.

Now I should point out that I rarely have people knocking on my door. Other than the pizza guy or my neighbor Lisa (and no, we don’t freaky…our relationship is strictly pizza).

Also the night before, mid-session, 3 Fire fighters came to my door for a “routine fire detector check”…I nearly pissed myself. So I was already pretty skeptical about answering the door.
But when I checked the peep-hole it was a big fat black guy, so I thought to myself “Whew, thank GAWD it isn’t a cop, THEN I would have been in trouble…”

(that’s kinda what he looked like)

SO after not seeing a black person in probably a month (no joke) I’m not ashamed to say I was eager to hear what this young gentleman had to say.

He went on to talk about environment stats and random shit that has to do with wind turbines but I was paying attention, I was just excited to be talking to a brother from a mother.

I remember him stopping every other sentence and asking “Do you know what mean?”

I had no fuckin clue what he was talking about

“Oh yeah I know what you’re talking about.”

So at this point he asked me if I was interested in paying 25 bucks a month to help fund different Green Energy foundations plus they’d be giving me some kit that had a bunch of different “going green” crap like halogen light bulbs and window insulators.

Any normal person would obviously say “No thanks.” But like I said I was really paying attention and I kinda thought he asked me if I would to go for a beer with him…

“Hells ya man.”


Fuck I’m an idiot.

When it got too far into it to back out (which really wasn’t at any point, I was just too much of a bitch to say I wasn’t really interested) I ended up give him a void check.

OK everyone is allowed to throw one rock at me. Only one though…

Even when I was giving him the check I was thinking that there must be a way out, so I’ll just call them tomorrow and cancel my order.

But after reviewing all the information in the different brochures and pamphlets he left me I realized something…


Fuck I’m an idiot.

I realized that I was boned. I had 2 opinions and neither were ideal.

One; call them in ten days, cancel, pay a 75 dollar fee and it’s over. Also I don’t get the “going green” kit.

Two; pay the 25 dollar a month payment for 4 months and then I can cancel at anytime and walk away.  Plus I would keep the kit.

Why the shit did I do this?

Was I really so pumped to be talking to a black dude that I over looked I was getting bent over?

Sooo sad…

I’m trying to look on the bright side…

I get a free kit (that’ll I’ll probably never use), I get to help the environment (probably not though) and I get a tax write off at the end of the year.

But all I keep thinking is;  if I had that 25 bucks a month, I could be putting it to better use…like getting cable TV.

Fuck I’m an idiot.

About cameronchase420

Hey I'm Cameron and I hate Ketchup, obviously. I also like to talk, talk, talk, talk, talk, talk, talk, talk, talk, and rap. I'm from Calgary but lived in Ontario for the most of my life. I now live in a little town called Wingham, oh you haven't heard of Wingham? Strange. Aaaaanyways, enough about me. Go read my shit. View all posts by cameronchase420

Leave a Reply

